That was fun – now it’s time to get on with some writing!

 

The first half of 2016 has been great fun. My writing and I have been out and about more than ever before – this is me last weekend at the Evesham Festival of Words open mic reading Monty and Jules Act 1 (the reading slots were a generous seven minutes, but I just couldn’t fit in the whole thing).

Evesham 2016Since the end of last year, I’ve read at book groups, festivals, the Women’s Institute, the Mothers’ Union and I’ve hosted an open mic. I’ve met some wonderful fellow writers – many of whom are also independents – and made a host of contacts for future events. My book, The Woman Who Never Did, is even for sale in a real, non-virtual bookshop: Warwick Books, 24 Market Place, Warwick (website here).

evesham anthologyOk, I’ve only written a couple of stories and poems, but I am in print again thanks to Cleo being shortlisted in the Evesham Festival Short Story Competition – read more here.

What I haven’t done is the thing I set out to do at the beginning of the year – get on with my next book. It has a title: The Mother and the Ghost. It has an plot, a theme and a tentative structure. It’s constructed from several smaller stories and I’ve even started some of them often more than once! So now that my performing bug is satisfied for a while and provided life, in the form of my family, allows me the space to do so, I’m off to do a bit of writing.

See you after the summer.

 

2 thoughts on “That was fun – now it’s time to get on with some writing!

  1. It’s great that Warwick Books are stocking your book. Maybe we’ll see you at a signing event there one day. I’m looking forward to reading Cleo in the Evesham Festival of Words anthology. I’m looking out for it on their website. Will we be able to read Monty & Jules anywhere?

    • Thanks, C Barrett. There are some great stories in the anthology, especially Jan Petrie’s ‘That Time Again’ – a worthy winner.
      It was great to see you at Words! Words! Words! the other week. With regard to ‘Monty and Jules’, I have no firm plans for it yet. The story is a bit unpolished as it’s only been used for open mics so far. Following on from Shakespeare 400, I’d love to do a collection of Shakespeare themed stories, but that’ll just have to go on the list for now!
      Best wishes,
      Jenny

Leave a Reply

