Going it alone? Far from it!

Book Launch photo - reading #1 - webLast week I had a little book launch for The Woman Who Never Did and it was so lovely I’ve been walking on air ever since – despite having a child off sick from school, and the housework and the ironing to catch up with, and all those cake stands, plates and glasses to wash up …

I had a fabulous evening in our local village hall, which was filled with wonderful, talented and inspiring women. Friends from my book group, the playground and around our village mingled with fellow writers and colleagues from my long-ago corporate days. My husband and children were there to support me and my mother made the trip from the south coast to be with us. We ate cake and drank bubbly and laughed and chatted the evening away. A number of friends told me this was their first book launch. ‘Really?’ I replied. ‘Mine too!’

    

Looking back to the blog I wrote in January, I can hardly believe this is the same year. The last two episodes have been titled Going it alone, but now I realise how very far from alone I am. Wow, ladies – just Wow!

Book Launch photo - audience #2 - web    Cake

Thank you to Sophie whose beautiful launch cake tasted every bit as good as it looked – and it looked so much like a real book that somebody tried to thumb through the pages! Thank you to Cath for saying such lovely things in her speech and for presenting me with an award put on my desk to remind me why I do this writing thing. Thank you to Colin and Kitty for their excellent baking skills. Thank you to Emma and Colette for helping organise and set up/clear up and for taking lots of great pictures to remind me what a great time I had.

Book Launch photo - signing #1 - for webAnd thank you to everyone who came along for making it such a special evening. Thank you for laughing in all the right places when I read my story FAB at 50. Thank you for buying my books and for wanting me to sign them. It meant so much to me to have you all there.

And now that the washing up is done, the child is going back to school in the morning? Well, I’m sure I can ignore the housework a bit longer …

Better get on with the next one!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Going it alone? Far from it!

  1. Congratulations, Jenny! The Woman Who Never Did was well and truly launched! Having already read and enjoyed the Kindle version, I bought paper copies to give as Christmas presents to friends and relatives, and for my book group. Loved hearing the FAB at 50 story too. Thanks for inviting me and for all the cake and fizz. Good luck with the next book!

  2. Thank you, C. Barrett! I had such a wonderful evening, and was so pleased you could all be there with me. I hope your book group like the stories. Now to knuckle down to the next one…

Leave a Reply

